A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE PRODUCTION

FILTHY BUSINESS

By RYAN CRAIG
Directed by EDWARD HALL

£10 - £35 (See ticket information)

When you’ve got no nation, no government, no place in the world what have you got? Family. You can’t depend on anything else

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

10 Mar - 22 Apr 2017
£10 - £35

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

1968, East London.  Over the years and against all the odds, Yetta Solomon has built a thriving business from nothing through sheer grit and passion.  Ignoring all the obstacles - insufficient capital, economic downturns, aggressive competition - she has found a way to survive everything adversity could throw at her.

Now she faces her toughest challenge: her family. In a rapidly changing Britain, Yetta must protect the shop and keep it in the Solomon family. But her sons, grandchildren and in-laws have other ideas… Always ruthless, how far will she go to keep the business in the family and the family in the business?

Ryan Craig’s fiery new family comedy takes a closer look at the entrepreneurial outsiders who became part of the beating heart of modern Britain. Craig’s theatre credits include The Holy Rosenbergs and Our Class (both National Theatre) and What We Did to Weinstein (Menier Chocolate Factory).

Hampstead Theatre’s Artistic Director, Edward Hall, has directed some of Hampstead’s biggest hits including Chariots of Fire, Wonderland, Rabbit Hole and the Oliver Award winning musical, Sunny Afternoon.

Olivier Award winner Sara Kestelman returns to Hampstead following her role as Clio in Tony Kushner’s sell-out hit The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures last year. Her other theatre credits include Peter Brook's seminal production of A Midsummer Night's Dream (RSC), Michael Frayn's award-winning Copenhagen (National Theatre/West End) and Cabaret (Donmar). Recent television includes BAFTA winning In The Flesh and Maigret and film credits include Zardoz, Lisztomania and Lady Jane.

This production is kindly supported by the Filthy Business Giving Circle.

Fri 10 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 11 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 13 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 14 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 15 Mar 19:30 Book now
Thu 16 Mar 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Fri 17 Mar 19:30 Book now
Sat 18 Mar 15:00 Book now
Sat 18 Mar 19:30 Book now
Mon 20 Mar 19:30 Book now
Tue 21 Mar 19:30 Book now
Wed 22 Mar 14:30 Book now
Wed 22 Mar 19:30 Book now
Thu 23 Mar 19:30 Book now
Fri 24 Mar 19:30 Book now
Sat 25 Mar 15:00 Book now
Sat 25 Mar 19:30 Book now
Mon 27 Mar 19:30 Book now
Tue 28 Mar 19:30 Book now
Wed 29 Mar 14:30 Book now
Wed 29 Mar 19:30 Book now
Thu 30 Mar 19:30 PRE-SHOW AVAILABLE FOR PATRONS Book now
Fri 31 Mar 19:30 Book now
Sat 01 Apr 15:00 Book now
Sat 01 Apr 19:30 Book now
Mon 03 Apr 19:30 Book now
Tue 04 Apr 19:30 Book now
Wed 05 Apr 14:30 Book now
Wed 05 Apr 19:30 Book now
Thu 06 Apr 19:30 Book now
Fri 07 Apr 19:30 Book now
Sat 08 Apr 15:00 Book now
Sat 08 Apr 19:30 Book now
Mon 10 Apr 19:30 PRE-SHOW AVAILABLE FOR PATRONS Book now
Tue 11 Apr 19:30 Book now
Wed 12 Apr 14:30 Book now
Wed 12 Apr 19:30 Book now
Thu 13 Apr 19:30 Book now
Fri 14 Apr 19:30 Book now
Sat 15 Apr 15:00 Book now
Sat 15 Apr 19:30 Book now
Mon 17 Apr 19:30 Book now
Tue 18 Apr 19:30 Book now
Wed 19 Apr 14:30 Book now
Wed 19 Apr 19:30 Book now
Thu 20 Apr 19:30 CAPTIONED PERFORMANCE Book now
Fri 21 Apr 19:30 Book now
Sat 22 Apr 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCE Book now
Sat 22 Apr 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

RYAN CRAIG

DIRECTOR

EDWARD HALL

DESIGNER

ASHLEY MARTIN-DAVIS

LIGHTING

RICK FISHER

SOUND

PAUL GROOTHUIS

COMPOSER

SIMON SLATER

CASTING

SUZANNE CROWLEY AND GILLY POOLE

Cast

Cast announced for Filthy Business

Posted on 6 February 2017

Hampstead Theatre presents the world premiere of Ryan Craig’s fiery family drama Filthy Business.

THREE NEW MAIN STAGE SHOWS ANNOUNCED

Posted on 23 January 2017

Three new Main Stage shows announced for 2017

Previews, Mondays and matinees 

Full price: £28/£25/£18
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Seniors (matinees only): £20/£18/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £15

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 


Full price: £35/£30/£25
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £15

*Under 30s and Student concession seats are available in rows A (£15) & Q (£10)

Audio described performance:
22 April at 3pm, with a touch tour at 1.30pm

Captioned performance:
20 April at 7.30pm, with a transcribed post show discussion