A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE PRODUCTION

OCCUPATIONAL HAZARDS

By STEPHEN BROWN
BASED ON THE MEMOIR BY RORY STEWART

Directed by SIMON GODWIN

£10 - £35 (See ticket information)

It’s democracy. Everyone is equally unhappy. It’s the defining feature of the system

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

28 Apr - 3 Jun 2017
£10 - £35

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

September 2003. Rory Stewart, a thirty year old former British diplomat, is posted to serve as governor in a province of the newly liberated Iraq. His job is to help build a new civil society at peace with itself and its neighbours - an ambitious mission, admittedly, but outperforming Saddam should surely not prove too difficult…

Yet, freedom from repressive tyranny has allowed centuries of tribal conflict, sectarian tension and ethnic division to burst into the open once more. These sharp local realities plunge Stewart into a dangerous whirlpool of political intrigue in which the double-dealing of opposing interest groups creates intensifying confusion and chaos. As pressure for a settlement mounts from all sides he comes to realise that all politics is indeed local, and that Washington may have to rethink its dreams of Iraqi democracy.

Stephen Brown’s new play, based on Rory Stewart’s critically acclaimed memoir Occupational Hazards, tells an extraordinary story about the moral conflicts, the dangers and the comic absurdities inherent in any foreign occupation.

Brown scripted Filter Theatre’s sell-out hit Faster (BAC, London/Lyric Studio, London/UK tour/Frankfurt/59E59 Theater, New York).  His play, Future Me, premiered at Theatre503 in London to wide acclaim, toured the UK and had US productions in Berkeley, CA and at the Public Theater, New York.

Simon Godwin makes his Hampstead directorial debut. His recent credits include Man and Superman, starring Ralph Fiennes and Strange Interlude, starring Anne Marie-Duff (both National Theatre).

Occupational Hazards is supported by The London Community Foundation & Cockayne – Grants for the Arts

Fri 28 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 29 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 01 May 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 02 May 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 03 May 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 04 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 05 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 06 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 06 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 08 May 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Tue 09 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 10 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 10 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 11 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 12 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 13 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 13 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 15 May 19:30 PRE-SHOW RECEPTION AVAILABLE FOR PATRONS Book now
Tue 16 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 17 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 17 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 18 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 19 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 20 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 20 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 22 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 23 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 24 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 24 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 25 May 19:30 PRE-SHOW RECEPTION AVAILABLE FOR PATRONS Book now
Fri 26 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 27 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 27 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 29 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 30 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 31 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 31 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 01 Jun 19:30 CAPTIONED PERFORMANCE WITH POST SHOW Q&A Book now
Fri 02 Jun 19:30 Book now
Sat 03 Jun 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCE Book now
Sat 03 Jun 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

STEPHEN BROWN

BASED ON THE MEMOIR BY

RORY STEWART

DIRECTOR

SIMON GODWIN 

DESIGNER

PAUL WILLS 

LIGHTING

OLIVER FENWICK

SOUND

ALEX CAPLEN

MOVEMENT DIRECTOR

JOHN ROSS

CASTING

SUZANNE CROWLEY AND GILLY POOLE

Cast

CAST ANNOUNCED FOR OCCUPATIONAL HAZARDS

Posted on 22 March 2017

Hampstead Theatre announces casting for the world premiere of Occupational Hazards

THREE NEW MAIN STAGE SHOWS ANNOUNCED

Posted on 23 January 2017

Three new Main Stage shows announced for 2017

Previews, Mondays and matinees 

Full price: £28/£25/£18
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Seniors (matinees only): £20/£18/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £15

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 


Full price: £35/£30/£25
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £15

*Under 30s and Student concession seats are available in rows A (£15) & Q (£10)

Audio described performance:
3 June at 3pm, with a touch tour at 1.30pm

Captioned performance:
1 June at 7.30pm, with a transcribed post show discussion