A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE PRODUCTION

SEX WITH STRANGERS

By LAURA EASON
Directed by PETER DUBOIS

£10 - £35 (See ticket information)

Look, I’m giving you another chance to show the world how talented you are. Take it. It’s worth the risk

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

27 Jan - 4 Mar 2017
£10 - £35

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Olivia, an attractive and talented but underappreciated mid-career writer, is unexpectedly trapped overnight in a secluded, snowed-in B&B with Ethan, an equally attractive and wildly successful young blogger. 

Her latest novel is an unsung masterpiece; his blog is being made into a movie. She prefers books; he prefers eBooks. She is anonymous; he has half a million Twitter followers. But opposites soon attract – passionately – as each realise they want more of what the other has. But the closer they get, the more they must confront the murky side of ambition, success and Wi-Fi…

Laura Eason’s smart comedy is a multifaceted love story packed with hidden ambitions, soaring desires and secret agendas.

Laura Eason is the author of twenty plays including The Undeniable Sound of Right Now, and adaptations of Around the World in 80 Days and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. Eason is also a writer for the Emmy award-winning Netflix series, House of Cards.

Peter DuBois returns to Hampstead Theatre following the critically acclaimed Rapture, Blister, Burn in 2014. Peter is in his ninth season as the Artistic Director of the Huntington Theatre Company in Boston. His productions have been on the annual top ten lists of The New York Times and The Evening Standard.

Emilia Fox returns to Hampstead Theatre following the sell-out hit Rapture, Blister, Burn in 2014. Theatre credits include Coriolanus, Richard II (both Almeida) and Good (Donmar). TV credits include Silent Witness and the Oscar-nominated film The Pianist.

Theo James makes his Hampstead debut. His film credits include the Divergent series, War on Everyone, The Benefactor, and You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger. TV credits include Golden Boy, Downton Abbey and Bedlam

Fri 27 Jan 19:30 PREVIEW Sold Out
Sat 28 Jan 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Mon 30 Jan 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Tue 31 Jan 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Wed 01 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 02 Feb 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Fri 03 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 04 Feb 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 04 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 06 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 07 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 08 Feb 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 08 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 09 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 10 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 11 Feb 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 11 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 13 Feb 19:30 Book now
Tue 14 Feb 19:30 Book now
Wed 15 Feb 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 15 Feb 19:30 Book now
Thu 16 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 17 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 18 Feb 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 18 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 20 Feb 19:30 PRE-SHOW RECEPTION AVAILABLE FOR PATRONS Limited Availability Book now
Tue 21 Feb 19:30 Book now
Wed 22 Feb 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 22 Feb 19:30 Book now
Thu 23 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 24 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 25 Feb 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Sat 25 Feb 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 27 Feb 19:30 Book now
Tue 28 Feb 19:30 CAPTIONED PERFORMANCE Book now
Wed 01 Mar 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 01 Mar 19:30 Book now
Thu 02 Mar 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 03 Mar 19:30 Book now
Sat 04 Mar 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 04 Mar 19:30 Limited Availability Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

LAURA EASON

DIRECTOR

PETER DUBOIS

DESIGNER

JONATHAN FENSOM

LIGHTING

NATASHA CHIVERS

SOUND

MAX PAPPENHEIM

CASTING

SUZANNE CROWLEY & GILLY POOLE

Cast

The Evening Standard interviews Emilia Fox

Posted on 12 January 2017

Robert Dex interviews Emilia Fox on her role in Sex with Strangers

Full cast announced for Sex with Strangers

Posted on 13 December 2016

Theo James and Emilia Fox to star

New shows announced for 2017

Posted on 11 November 2016

Emilia Fox returns to star in Sex with Strangers

10 Questions with Laura Eason

Posted on 11 November 2016

We talk to writer of Sex with Strangers, Laura Eason

Previews, Mondays and matinees 

Full price: £28/£25/£18
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Seniors (matinees only): £20/£18/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £15

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 


Full price: £35/£30/£25
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £15

*Under 30s and Student concession seats are available in rows A (£15) & Q (£10)

Audio described performance:
25 February at 3pm, with a touch tour at 1.30pm

Captioned performance:
28 February at 7.30pm, with a transcribed post show discussion

Video and Image Gallery

Emilia Fox (Olivia) Emilia Fox (Olivia)
Theo James (Ethan) Theo James (Ethan)
Emilia Fox (Olivia) and Theo James (Ethan) Emilia Fox (Olivia) and Theo James (Ethan)
Theo James (Ethan) and Emilia Fox (Olivia) Theo James (Ethan) and Emilia Fox (Olivia)
Emilia Fox (Olivia) and Theo James (Ethan) Emilia Fox (Olivia) and Theo James (Ethan)
Emilia Fox (Olivia) Emilia Fox (Olivia)
Theo James (Ethan) Theo James (Ethan)
Emilia Fox (Olivia) and Theo James (Ethan) Emilia Fox (Olivia) and Theo James (Ethan)