HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS/CELIA ATKIN PRESENT

THE PHLEBOTOMIST

By ELLA ROAD
Directed by SAM YATES

Running time: 2 HOURS INCLUDING INTERVAL

£5 - £14 (See ticket information)

All these people are getting their dating profiles blood-verified. You know, shouldn’t we just go for the people we fancy?

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

12 Apr - 19 May 2018
£5 - £14

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Bea meets Aaron. He’s intelligent, handsome, makes her laugh and, most importantly, has a high rating on his genetic profile. What’s not to like?

Char is on the brink of landing her dream job and has big plans to start a family - but her blood rating threatens it all.

In a world where future happiness depends on a single, inescapable blood test – which dictates everything from credit rating to dating prospects - how far will people go to beat the system and let nature take its course?

Ella Road’s debut play is a powerfully provocative vision of the future, questioning the value we place on one another, whether knowledge really is power, and if it’s truly possible for love to conquer all.

Sam Yates makes his Hampstead Theatre directorial debut. His theatre credits include Glengarry Glen Ross starring Christian Slater (West End), Murder Ballad (West End), East is East (West End/UK Tour) and The El. Train, starring Ruth Wilson (Hoxton Hall). 

 

 

ACCESS OUR 'EXCELLENT PROGRAMME' (THE GUARDIAN) AHEAD OF YOUR VISIT - BUY A DIGITAL COPY NOW FOR JUST £1:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fri 20 Apr 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 21 Apr 15:15 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 21 Apr 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 23 Apr 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 24 Apr 19:45 Sold Out
Wed 25 Apr 19:45 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Thu 26 Apr 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 27 Apr 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 28 Apr 15:15 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 28 Apr 19:45 Sold Out
Mon 30 Apr 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 01 May 19:45 Book now
Wed 02 May 14:45 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 02 May 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 03 May 19:45 Book now
Fri 04 May 19:45 Book now
Sat 05 May 15:15 Book now
Sat 05 May 19:45 Book now
Mon 07 May 19:45 Book now
Tue 08 May 19:45 PATRONS EVENING Sold Out
Wed 09 May 14:45 Book now
Wed 09 May 19:45 Book now
Thu 10 May 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 11 May 19:45 Book now
Sat 12 May 15:15 Book now
Sat 12 May 19:45 Book now
Mon 14 May 19:45 Book now
Tue 15 May 19:45 Book now
Wed 16 May 14:45 Book now
Wed 16 May 19:45 Book now
Thu 17 May 19:45 Sold Out
Fri 18 May 19:45 Book now
Sat 19 May 15:15 Book now
Sat 19 May 19:45 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

ELLA ROAD

DIRECTOR

SAM YATES

DESIGNER

ROSANNA VIZE

LIGHTING

ZOE SPURR

SOUND

ALEX TWISELTON

VIDEO DESIGN

DUNCAN MCLEAN

CASTING

LUCY HELLIER

Cast

Cast announced for The Phlebotomist

Posted on 19 March 2018

Jade Anouka and Rory Fleck Byrne star in Ella Road's new play

FOUR NEW DOWNSTAIRS PLAYS ANNOUNCED

Posted on 23 October 2017

Priority Booking for Friends and Patrons is now open for all four shows.

First five performances: All tickets £5
The next twelve performances: £12
Performances thereafter: £14
Seniors: £10 (matinee only)
Under 30s and Students: £10
Access: £6
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free

Video and Image Gallery

Jade Anouka (Bea) Jade Anouka (Bea)
Cherrelle Skeete (Char) Cherrelle Skeete (Char)
Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron) Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron)
Vincent Abrahim (David) Vincent Abrahim (David)
Jade Anouka (Bea) and Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron) Jade Anouka (Bea) and Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron)
Ella Road (Writer) Ella Road (Writer)
Sam Yates (Director) Sam Yates (Director)
Jade Anouka (Bea) Jade Anouka (Bea)
Jade Anouka (Bea) Jade Anouka (Bea)
Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron) and Jade Anouka (Bea) Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron) and Jade Anouka (Bea)
Jade Anouka (Bea) and Cherrelle Skeete (Char) Jade Anouka (Bea) and Cherrelle Skeete (Char)
Vincent Ebrahim (David) Vincent Ebrahim (David)
Jade Anouka (Bea) and Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron) Jade Anouka (Bea) and Rory Fleck Byrne (Aaron)
Cherrelle Skeete (Char) Cherrelle Skeete (Char)
Jade Anouka (Bea) Jade Anouka (Bea)
Jade Anouka (Bea) Jade Anouka (Bea)