PART OF THE HAMPSTEAD CLASSICS SEASON

'NIGHT, MOTHER

By Marsha Norman
Directed by Roxana Silbert

I am worried about you, but I’m going to do what I can before I go. We’re not just going to sit around tonight. I made a list of things

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

2 Jul - 1 Aug 2020

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Thelma Cates and her daughter Jessie share the old family home out in the country; Jessie looks after her mother now she has begun to show her age. This particularly quiet evening seems no different to any other – Jessie makes sure that Thelma has everything she needs, preparing food, folding the laundry, putting the bins out. But a shattering revelation is in the air and, as this may prove to be the last evening they share, they have a lot to talk about…

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, Marsha Norman’s astonishing play returns after thirty-five years, following its first London production at Hampstead Theatre in 1985.

Roxana Silbert is Hampstead Theatre’s Artistic Director. She was previously Artistic Director of Birmingham REP and Artistic Director of Paines Plough. She has been Associate Director at the RSC and Associate Director at the Royal Court Theatre.

‘night, Mother is the final play in Hampstead Theatre’s Classics Season, celebrating 60 years of original theatre with the restaging of four major plays from our archive.

‘A well-nigh perfect piece of work’
Daily Telegraph on the original Hampstead Theatre production

(Photograph ©1992 Susan Johann)

 Twitter Banner4

OFFER MPU2

Thu 02 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Fri 03 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 04 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 06 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 07 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 08 Jul 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Thu 09 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 10 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 11 Jul 15:00 Book now
Sat 11 Jul 19:30 Book now
Mon 13 Jul 19:30 Book now
Tue 14 Jul 19:30 Book now
Wed 15 Jul 14:30 Book now
Wed 15 Jul 19:30 Book now
Thu 16 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 17 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 18 Jul 15:00 Book now
Sat 18 Jul 19:30 Book now
Mon 20 Jul 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Tue 21 Jul 19:30 Book now
Wed 22 Jul 14:30 Book now
Wed 22 Jul 19:30 Book now
Thu 23 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 24 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 25 Jul 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 25 Jul 19:30 Book now
Mon 27 Jul 19:30 Book now
Tue 28 Jul 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 29 Jul 14:30 Book now
Wed 29 Jul 19:30 Book now
Thu 30 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 31 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 01 Aug 15:00 Book now
Sat 01 Aug 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

MARSHA NORMAN

DIRECTOR

ROXANA SILBERT

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £18/£27/£30
Under 30s/Students: £10/15
Seniors* (matinees only): £20/£25
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £25/£32/£37
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.