PART OF THE HAMPSTEAD CLASSICS SEASON

THE TWO CHARACTER PLAY

By Tennessee Williams
Directed by Sam Yates

A doctor once told me that we were the bravest people he knew. I said “Why, that’s absurd, my brother and I are terrified of our shadows.” And he said, “Yes, I know, and that’s why I admire your courage so much…”

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

24 Apr - 23 May 2020

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Fellow actors, brother and sister Felice and Clare have been on tour too long: every town looks increasingly the same until they feel they could be anywhere… Abandoned by the rest of the acting company, but faced with an audience expecting a performance, they must enact The Two Character Play. But as their gripping ‘play within a play’ unfolds, the line between reality and illusion becomes increasingly unclear; as their characters reach out to the outside world, the actors’ isolation and uncertainty grows…  

One of the foremost playwrights of the twentieth-century, Tennessee Williams spent over ten years writing The Two Character Play, an innovative, partly autobiographical work which he called ‘My most beautiful play since Streetcar, the very heart of my life’. It returns to Hampstead Theatre for the first time in over fifty years, having received its World Premiere there in 1967.

Sam Yates makes a highly anticipated return to Hampstead Theatre’s Main Stage following his Olivier-nominated production of The Phlebotomist. His West End credits include Glengarry Glen Ross starring Christian Slater (West End) and The Starry Messenger starring Matthew Broderick.

The Two Character Play is part of Hampstead Theatre’s Classics Season, celebrating 60 years of original theatre with the restaging of four major plays from our archive.

‘Mr Williams succeeds quite brilliantly in sustaining the idea that nothing whatever is to be relied upon, and that if we get through one veil there is another beyond.’ David Wade, The Times, on the original Hampstead Theatre production of The Two Character Play

‘Very brave… A haunting play full of ghosts, memories and outcries’
The New York Times on the original Broadway run

(The Two Character Play is presented by special arrangement with The University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee)

Twitter Banner2

 

OFFER MPU2

Fri 24 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 25 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 27 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 28 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 29 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 30 Apr 19:30 Book now
Fri 01 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 02 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 02 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 04 May 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Tue 05 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 06 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 06 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 07 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 08 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 09 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 09 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 11 May 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Tue 12 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 13 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 13 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 14 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 15 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 16 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 16 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 18 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 19 May 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 20 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 20 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 21 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 22 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 23 May 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 23 May 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

TENNESSEE WILLIAMS

DIRECTOR

SAM YATES

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £18/£27/£30
Under 30s/Students: £10/15
Seniors* (matinees only): £20/£25
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £25/£32/£37
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.