HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS / CELIA ATKIN PRESENT

LITTLE SCRATCH

BY REBECCA WATSON
ADAPTED FOR THE STAGE BY MIRIAM BATTYE
DIRECTED BY KATIE MITCHELL

I have drifted significantly. Thinking for the sake of thinking. Filling my mind… To block out.

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

5 Nov - 11 Dec 2021

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Adapted from Rebecca Watson’s ‘daringly experimental debut’ novel (Guardian), little scratch is a fearless and exhilarating account of a woman’s consciousness over the course of 24 hours. The charged narrative records in precise detail her impressions of a deceptively ordinary day - the daily commute, office politics and a constant barrage of texts on WhatsApp – and as the day goes on, she gradually starts to unveil the trauma of a rape that is consuming her. Exploring how the human mind internalizes, distracts, and survives the darkest moments, Katie Mitchell, with sound score by Melanie Wilson, brings Miriam Battye’s adaptation to compelling life.

Rebecca Watson is one of The Observer’s 10 best debut novelists of 2021 and was shortlisted for this year's Desmond Elliott Prize.

Miriam Battye makes her Hampstead debut. Recent credits include Scenes With Girls at the Royal Court, Big Small Lost Found Things at Bristol Old Vic and All Your Gold at Theatre Royal Plymouth.

Katie Mitchell returns to Hampstead Theatre for the fourth time, having previously directed Say it with Flowers, small hours and The Trial of Ubu. Other credits include When We Have Sufficiently Tortured Each Other and Cleansed (National Theatre), Orlando (Schaubuhne, Berlin) and Lesson in Love and Violence (Royal Opera House).

The cast features Morónkẹ́ Akinọlá (The Niceties, Finborough Theatre), Eleanor Henderson (Pass It On, Lyric Hammersmith), Eve Ponsonby (Longing, Hampstead) and Ragevan Vasan (Name, Place, Animal, Thing, Almeida).


We present entertaining and original theatre, and we want you to have the best experience possible. We understand that, as part of this, some audience members may appreciate additional guidance on the content of our plays. Click here for content warnings.


Our promise to you

In the event of little scratch being postponed, you can choose between a full refund or credit to be used for any show at Hampstead.

Hampstead Theatre is delighted to open little scratch following Government advice. As always, our audience, company and staff are our top priority. For more information about how we’re keeping you safe, please click here.


See it safely logo small H

ls Twitter

Fri 05 Nov 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Sat 06 Nov 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Mon 08 Nov 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Tue 09 Nov 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Wed 10 Nov 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Thu 11 Nov 19:00 Book now
Fri 12 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 13 Nov 14:45 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 13 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 15 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 16 Nov 19:45 PATRONS EVENING Limited Availability Book now
Wed 17 Nov 19:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Thu 18 Nov 14:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Thu 18 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 19 Nov 19:45 Book now
Sat 20 Nov 14:45 Book now
Sat 20 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 22 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 23 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 24 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 25 Nov 14:45 Book now
Thu 25 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 26 Nov 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 27 Nov 14:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Sat 27 Nov 19:45 Book now
Mon 29 Nov 19:45 Book now
Tue 30 Nov 19:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Wed 01 Dec 19:45 Book now
Thu 02 Dec 14:45 Book now
Thu 02 Dec 19:45 Book now
Fri 03 Dec 19:45 Book now
Sat 04 Dec 14:45 Book now
Sat 04 Dec 19:45 Book now
Mon 06 Dec 19:45 Book now
Tue 07 Dec 19:45 Book now
Wed 08 Dec 19:45 Book now
Thu 09 Dec 14:45 Book now
Thu 09 Dec 19:45 Book now
Fri 10 Dec 19:45 Book now
Sat 11 Dec 14:45 Book now
Sat 11 Dec 19:45 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

REBECCA WATSON

ADAPTER FOR THE STAGE

MIRIAM BATTYE

DIRECTOR

KATIE MITCHELL

SOUND SCORE

MELANIE WILSON

LIGHTING

BETHANY GUPWELL

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR

GRACE CORDELL

 

Cast

HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ANNOUNCES THE WORLD PREMIERES OF LITTLE SCRATCH, BY REBECCA WATSON, IN AN ADAPTATION BY MIRIAM BATTYE, DIRECTED BY KATIE MITCHELL, AND NELL LEYSHON’S FOLK DIRECTED BY ROXANA SILBERT

Posted on 29 September 2021

Hampstead Theatre is delighted to announce the remaining two world premieres for its Downstairs space in 2021.

First five performances: All tickets £5
Performances thereafter: £20
Seniors*: £12 (matinee only)
Under 30s and Students: £10
Access: £6

*Ages 60+

KEEPING YOU SAFE AT HAMPSTEAD

1 Social Distanced 2

RESPECT PERSONAL SPACE

3 MASKS REQUIRED 1

FACE MASKS REQUIRED

4 TEMPERATURE CHECKS2

TEMPERATURE CHECKS

5 STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION2

STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION

6 ENHANCED CLEANING2

ENHANCED CLEANING

7 CONTACTLESS TICKETS2

CONTACTLESS TICKETS

8 HAND SANITIZING STATIONS 1

HAND SANITIZING STATIONS

9 CASHLESS PAYMENT3

CASHLESS PAYMENT