Posted on 21 June 2023.

Posted in: Announcements


Olivia Mace has been named as the winner of the inaugural Phoebe Frances Brown Award – a new writing prize set up in celebration of the memory and talent of the writer and actor who died in April 2022, aged 29.

The award - a partnership between Hampstead Theatre and Nottingham Playhouse – attracted 403 entrants from which five writers were shortlisted. Olivia Mace’s play Pineapple really captured the imaginations of the judging panel who all praised her unique style, imagination and flair. They were incredibly excited too by her idea for her new play, Stigma, which will receive a Hampstead Downstairs commission. Mace will also receive a £1,000 bursary provided by Hampstead Theatre plus professional development support from both theatres.

Olivia Mace said of winning the award:

“I am honoured and so excited to work with these two beautiful theatres. To receive an opportunity like this in honour of a creative force like Phoebe Frances Brown is a challenge to be bold, to step out of my comfort zone and explore. I hope to create something Phoebe's colleagues, family and friends will be proud of.”

The award was set up by director Tessa Walker, Chair of the Judging Panel, who said:

“We were so delighted by the response to the award and by the extraordinarily high standard of the submissions, it was wonderful to see how much incredible writing talent there is out there. We are delighted too to have chosen Olivia to be the recipient of the inaugural award and I am so excited to work with her on her new commission. I know Phoebe would have loved Olivia’s work and I see no better way to keep her memory alive than offering opportunities like this to brilliant new writers and supporting the telling of fantastic new stories.”

Gail Brown, Phoebe’s mother said:

“I'm so thrilled that Olivia Mace has accepted the offer of the Phoebe Frances Brown Award. Olivia's witty demeanour and enthusiastic personality shone through at the interview I couldn't help but be reminded of Phoebe.

“Dominic, Phoebe's brother, and I are immensely proud of what Phoebe achieved; the fact she continues to inspire, encourage and promote new writers like Olivia and the other shortlisted writers, is a true testament to her legacy.”

The shortlisted runner-up writers were Bisola Elizabeth Alabi, Emma Anderson, Jenna Fincken and Rafaella Marcus.

The Phoebe Frances Brown Award has been kindly supported by Rodney & Zmira Hornstein, and many of Phoebe's friends and family.

Back to top