HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS / CELIA ATKIN PRESENT

BELLRINGERS

By Daisy Hall
Directed by Jessica Lazar

Why shouldn’t it be true? Why shouldn’t there be a perfect peal which will shake loose a thunder storm every time? I mean, there’s a chance, isn’t there?

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

27 Sep - 2 Nov 2024

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Details

The storms are getting worse, with rains so hard that fish are falling from the sky. But the age-old belief prevails - that the pealing of bells can dissipate the thunder and lightning. It’s an extremely dangerous task – one that now falls to lifelong friends Clement and Aspinall – and as the weather worsens, the young men begin to question whether they’ll make it through the night. With their faith in tradition faltering, they find the only thing in which they have unwavering belief is each other… 

Daisy Hall’s comic and deeply moving debut play was a finalist for the Women’s Prize for Playwriting 2024. 

Bellringers is directed by Jessica Lazar (Sap, Edinburgh Fringe 2023; Twenty-Eight, Theatre503) and this Hampstead Downstairs co-production arrives following a run at Roundabout, Edinburgh Festival 2024. 

Co-produced with Atticist and Ellie Keel Productions.


Dates
Fri 27 Sep 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 28 Sep 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 30 Sep 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 01 Oct 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 02 Oct 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 03 Oct 19:45 Book now
Fri 04 Oct 19:45 Book now
Sat 05 Oct 14:45 Book now
Sat 05 Oct 19:45 Book now
Mon 07 Oct 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Tue 08 Oct 19:45 Book now
Wed 09 Oct 19:45 Book now
Thu 10 Oct 14:45 Book now
Thu 10 Oct 19:45 Book now
Fri 11 Oct 19:45 Book now
Sat 12 Oct 14:45 Book now
Sat 12 Oct 19:45 Book now
Mon 14 Oct 19:45 PATRONS EVENING, POST SHOW DISCUSSION Book now
Tue 15 Oct 19:45 Book now
Wed 16 Oct 19:45 Book now
Thu 17 Oct 14:45 Book now
Thu 17 Oct 19:45 Book now
Fri 18 Oct 19:45 Book now
Sat 19 Oct 14:45 Book now
Sat 19 Oct 19:45 Book now
Mon 21 Oct 19:45 Book now
Tue 22 Oct 19:45 Book now
Wed 23 Oct 19:45 Book now
Thu 24 Oct 14:45 Book now
Thu 24 Oct 19:45 Book now
Fri 25 Oct 19:45 Book now
Sat 26 Oct 14:45 Book now
Sat 26 Oct 19:45 Book now
Mon 28 Oct 19:45 Book now
Tue 29 Oct 19:45 PATRONS EVENING, POST SHOW DISCUSSION Book now
Wed 30 Oct 19:45 CAPTIONED Book now
Thu 31 Oct 14:45 CAPTIONED Book now
Thu 31 Oct 19:45 Book now
Fri 01 Nov 19:45 Book now
Sat 02 Nov 14:45 Book now
Sat 02 Nov 19:45 Book now
Cast

Artistic team

WRITER

DAISY HALL

DIRECTOR

JESSICA LAZAR

Tickets

Previews: £10 

Full Price: £25 

Seniors* (matinees only): £15  

Under 30s/Students: £10 

Access ½ price 

Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free 

*Ages 60+ 

 

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price. 

Content Warnings

CONTENT WARNINGS - BELLRINGERS

 

This production contains flashing lights, sudden loud noises and the use of herbal e-cigarettes.
References of animal cruelty and mutilation, graphic descriptions of death.
 

Please note that our content warnings evolve as the production does throughout rehearsal and previews, so there may be changes made between booking and attending the theatre. If you would like to speak to a member of our team about specific themes or concerns, please call the Box Office on 020 7722 9301 or email boxoffice@hampsteadtheatre.com