HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS / CELIA ATKIN PRESENT

GRUD

By Sarah Power
Directed by Jaz Woodcock-Stewart

Hey I know you! You’re the one that’s always in the back of the library. Like a little library gremlin. Eating up knowledge. And Haribo…

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

28 Jun - 3 Aug 2024

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Details
It’s a new term at college and, for most of the Sixth Form students, all that matters are mocks, UCAS applications and whether or not Elliot Park and Georgia Smith had sex in the study room at lunchtime…

After losing the election for student president, Aicha is throwing all her energy into the school’s ‘Extended Physics Project’ – or, as she calls it, Space Club. One afternoon, Aicha is surprised by the appearance of the usually introverted and distant Bo, doubling the membership of Space Club. Whilst Aicha is thrilled to have a mysterious new friend, Bo is distracted by the black hole at the heart of her home life. She’s worked so hard to launch herself into bigger and better things – but will Grud eclipse her efforts and pull her off course?

Sarah Power is an alumnus of Hampstead Theatre’s INSPIRE 2022 programme for emerging playwrights. Her credits include Pig at Liverpool’s Royal Court Theatre and Mandrake which was longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Playwriting, the Papatango New Writing Prize and was a finalist in the Hope Mill Theatre’s Through the Mill playwriting competition. Jaz Woodcock-Stewart makes her Hampstead Theatre debut, with previous credits including Paradise Now! (Bush - 2022 Olivier Award nominated), Civilisation (New Diorama, HOME Manchester, Underbelly Edinburgh) and Electric Rosary (Royal Exchange).


Dates
Fri 28 Jun 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 29 Jun 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 01 Jul 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 02 Jul 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 03 Jul 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 04 Jul 19:45 Book now
Fri 05 Jul 19:45 Book now
Sat 06 Jul 14:45 Book now
Sat 06 Jul 19:45 Book now
Mon 08 Jul 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Tue 09 Jul 19:45 Book now
Wed 10 Jul 19:45 Book now
Thu 11 Jul 14:45 Book now
Thu 11 Jul 19:45 Book now
Fri 12 Jul 19:45 Book now
Sat 13 Jul 14:45 Book now
Sat 13 Jul 19:45 Book now
Mon 15 Jul 19:45 Book now
Tue 16 Jul 19:45 Book now
Wed 17 Jul 19:45 Book now
Thu 18 Jul 14:45 Book now
Thu 18 Jul 19:45 PATRONS EVENING, POST SHOW DISCUSSION Book now
Fri 19 Jul 19:45 Book now
Sat 20 Jul 14:45 Book now
Sat 20 Jul 19:45 Book now
Mon 22 Jul 19:45 Book now
Tue 23 Jul 19:45 PATRONS EVENING, POST SHOW DISCUSSION Book now
Wed 24 Jul 19:45 CAPTIONED Book now
Thu 25 Jul 14:45 CAPTIONED Book now
Thu 25 Jul 19:45 Book now
Fri 26 Jul 19:45 Book now
Sat 27 Jul 14:45 Book now
Sat 27 Jul 19:45 Book now
Mon 29 Jul 19:45 Book now
Tue 30 Jul 19:45 Book now
Wed 31 Jul 19:45 Book now
Thu 01 Aug 14:45 Book now
Thu 01 Aug 19:45 Book now
Fri 02 Aug 19:45 Book now
Sat 03 Aug 14:45 Book now
Sat 03 Aug 19:45 Book now
Cast

Artistic team

WRITER

SARAH POWER

DIRECTOR

JAZ WOODCOCK-STEWART

DESIGNER

NOEMI DABOCZI

LIGHTING DESIGNER

CHENG KENG

SOUND DESIGNER

CUTTY SARK

CO-SOUND DESIGNER

JACK BAXTER

PRODUCTION MANAGER

JAMES DAWSON

 

Cast

News

HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ANNOUNCES ITS SPRING 2024 SEASON PLUS THE LAUNCH OF A £1.25M FUNDRAISING CAMPAIGN

Posted on 23 November 2023

Spring 2024 will see four world premieres, one UK premiere, and one English language premiere by acclaimed writers including April De Angelis, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Christopher Hampton and Richard Nelson alongside rising playwrights Sarah Power and Richard Molloy.

Tickets

Previews: £10 

Full Price: £25 

Seniors* (matinees only): £15  

Under 30s/Students: £10 

Access ½ price 

Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free 

*Ages 60+ 

 

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price. 

Content Warnings

CONTENT WARNINGS - GRUD

 

This production contains strong language and themes of substance abuse. 

Please note that our content warnings evolve as the production does throughout rehearsal and previews, so there may be changes made between booking and attending the theatre. If you would like to speak to a member of our team about specific themes or concerns, please call the Box Office on 020 7722 9301 or email boxoffice@hampsteadtheatre.com

Video and Image Gallery

CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) & KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) Photo by Alex Brenner CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) & KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA)Photo by Alex Brenner
CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) & KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) Photo by Alex Brenner CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) & KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA)Photo by Alex Brenner
KARL THEOBALD (GRUD) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) Photo by Alex Brenner KARL THEOBALD (GRUD) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO)Photo by Alex Brenner
CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) & KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) Photo by Alex Brenner CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) & KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA)Photo by Alex Brenner
KARL THEOBOLD (GRUD) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) Photo by Alex Brenner KARL THEOBOLD (GRUD) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO)Photo by Alex Brenner
KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) Photo by Alex Brenner KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO)Photo by Alex Brenner
KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) Photo by Alex Brenner KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO)Photo by Alex Brenner
KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO) Photo by Alex Brenner KADIESHA BELGRAVE (AICHA) & CATHERINE ASHDOWN (BO)Photo by Alex Brenner
KARL THEOBOLD (GRUD) Photo by Alex Brenner KARL THEOBOLD (GRUD)Photo by Alex Brenner
SARAH POWER (WRITER) Photo by Alex Brenner SARAH POWER (WRITER)Photo by Alex Brenner