HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS/CELIA ATKIN PRESENT

THE STRANGE DEATH OF JOHN DOE

By FIONA DOYLE
Directed by EDWARD HALL

£5 - £14 (See ticket information)

I mean, where does a person begin and end, and when did they stop being a person?

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

25 May - 30 Jun 2018
£5 - £14

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

London – the present day. The unidentified body of a young man with fatal head injuries is found face down in a suburban street. Who is he and where did he come from? He has no ID and nobody witnessed anything. It’s as if he has just fallen from the sky…

Clinically named as ‘John Doe’ by the pathologists working on the case, they must uncover the truth and piece his story – and body – back together. A breakthrough sends DC John Kavura into overdrive and as his investigation unravels, he uncovers a haunting story of our time. Fiona Doyle’s powerful and poignant new play, inspired by real events, is a Hampstead commission and finalist for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.

Fiona returns to Hampstead Theatre following Deluge in 2015. Her other theatre work includes Coolatully (winner of the 2014 Papatango New Writing Prize), Ms Y (Young Vic) and Rootbound (Arcola).

Edward Hall returns to Hampstead Downstairs following the sell-out hit Firebird in 2015. As Artistic Director, he has directed some of Hampstead’s biggest hits including the Olivier Award winning musical Sunny Afternoon, Cell Mates, Filthy Business, Rabbit Hole, Chariots of Fire and Wonderland.

This production has been supported with a generous gift from Jocelyn Abbey and Tom Carney.

DTN MPU3

Fri 25 May 19:45 PREVIEW Sold Out
Sat 26 May 19:45 PREVIEW Sold Out
Mon 28 May 19:45 PREVIEW Sold Out
Tue 29 May 19:45 PREVIEW Sold Out
Wed 30 May 19:45 PREVIEW Sold Out
Thu 31 May 19:45 Sold Out
Fri 01 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Sat 02 Jun 15:15 Sold Out
Sat 02 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Mon 04 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Tue 05 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Wed 06 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Thu 07 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Fri 08 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Sat 09 Jun 15:15 Sold Out
Sat 09 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Mon 11 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Tue 12 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Wed 13 Jun 14:45 Sold Out
Wed 13 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Thu 14 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Fri 15 Jun 19:45 Book now
Sat 16 Jun 15:15 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 16 Jun 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 18 Jun 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 19 Jun 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 20 Jun 14:45 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 20 Jun 19:45 Book now
Thu 21 Jun 19:45 Book now
Fri 22 Jun 19:45 Book now
Sat 23 Jun 15:15 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 23 Jun 19:45 Book now
Mon 25 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Tue 26 Jun 19:45 Book now
Wed 27 Jun 14:45 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 27 Jun 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 28 Jun 19:45 Book now
Fri 29 Jun 19:45 Book now
Sat 30 Jun 15:15 Book now
Sat 30 Jun 19:45 Book now

Artistic team

writer

FIONA DOYLE

DIRECTOR

EDWARD HALL

DESIGNER

MICHAEL PAVELKA

LIGHTING

MATTHEW HASKINS

SOUND

CHRIS MURRAY

Cast

THE STRANGE DEATH OF JOHN DOE: FULL CAST ANNOUNCED

Posted on 20 April 2018

Full casting is announced for Fiona Doyle's powerful and poignant new play, directed by Edward Hall

ARTISTIC DIRECTOR EDWARD HALL ANNOUNCES HAMPSTEAD THEATRE'S SPRING/SUMMER SEASON

Posted on 21 February 2018

Rajiv Joseph's Describe the Night, Jemma Kennedy's Genesis Inc. and Fiona Doyle's The Strange Death of John Doe announced as Hampstead's 2018 spring/summer season

First five performances: All tickets £5
The next twelve performances: £12
Performances thereafter: £14
Seniors: £10 (matinee only)
Under 30s and Students: £10
Access: £6
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free

Video and Image Gallery

Abigail Thaw, Damola Adelaja, Maynard Eziashi, Charlotte Bradley and Benjamin Cawley Abigail Thaw, Damola Adelaja, Maynard Eziashi, Charlotte Bradley and Benjamin Cawley
Company of The Strange Death of John Doe Company of The Strange Death of John Doe
Damola Adelaja Damola Adelaja
Abigail Thaw Abigail Thaw
Benjamin Cawley Benjamin Cawley
Benjamin Cawley and Nick Hendrix Benjamin Cawley and Nick Hendrix
Callie Cooke Callie Cooke
Charlotte Bradley and Benjamin Cawley Charlotte Bradley and Benjamin Cawley
Company of The Strange Death of John Doe Company of The Strange Death of John Doe
Company of The Strange Death of John Doe Company of The Strange Death of John Doe
Benjamin Cawley and Maynard Eziashi Benjamin Cawley and Maynard Eziashi
Benjamin Cawley Benjamin Cawley
Company of The Strange Death of John Doe Company of The Strange Death of John Doe
Maynard Eziashi Maynard Eziashi
Nick Hendrix Nick Hendrix
Rhashan Stone and Benjamin Cawley Rhashan Stone and Benjamin Cawley