A HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS ORIGINAL

DEPOSIT

By MATT HARTLEY
Directed by LISA SPIRLING

£10 - £20 (See ticket information)

Well today is a brave day, friends are uniting. To help each other’s dreams come true.

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

11 May - 10 Jun 2017
£10 - £20

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Rachel and Ben want to buy a flat in London. And so do their friends, Melanie and Sam. But what with rent, tax, student loans and bills, it’s impossible to save for a deposit.

So the foursome comes up with a fast-track solution to the problem: live together. Sneakily split the rent and bills on a tiny one bedroom flat for a year. But with paper thin walls and space growing sparser by the day, which will they sacrifice first – the friendship, the relationship or the dream of buying their own property?

Matt Hartley’s Deposit throws a lively and topical spotlight on ‘Generation Rent’ and the lengths they will go to in order to get that first step on the property ladder. Hartley returns to Hampstead with a new version of Deposit following a sold out run Downstairs in 2015. His theatre credits include the Bruntwood Award winning Sixty Five Miles (Paines Plough/ Hull Truck), Here I Belong (Pentabus) and Myth (Royal Shakespeare Company). 

Lisa Spirling returns with Deposit to Hampstead Downstairs following Ken, Pine, Fault Lines and I Know How I Feel About Eve. Lisa is the Artistic Director of Theatre503. Other credits include Donkeys' Years, Here (Rose Theatre, Kingston) and Jumpy (Theatr Clwyd).

Thu 11 May 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Fri 12 May 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 13 May 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 15 May 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 16 May 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 17 May 19:00 Sold Out
Thu 18 May 19:45 Sold Out
Fri 19 May 19:45 Book now
Sat 20 May 15:15 Book now
Sat 20 May 19:45 Book now
Mon 22 May 19:45 Book now
Tue 23 May 19:45 Book now
Wed 24 May 14:45 Book now
Wed 24 May 19:45 Book now
Thu 25 May 19:45 Book now
Fri 26 May 19:45 Book now
Sat 27 May 15:15 Book now
Sat 27 May 19:45 Book now
Mon 29 May 19:45 Book now
Tue 30 May 19:45 Book now
Wed 31 May 14:45 Book now
Wed 31 May 19:45 Book now
Thu 01 Jun 19:45 Book now
Fri 02 Jun 19:45 Book now
Sat 03 Jun 15:15 Book now
Sat 03 Jun 19:45 Book now
Mon 05 Jun 19:45 Book now
Tue 06 Jun 19:45 Sold Out
Wed 07 Jun 14:45 Book now
Wed 07 Jun 19:45 Book now
Thu 08 Jun 19:45 Book now
Fri 09 Jun 19:45 Book now
Sat 10 Jun 15:15 Book now
Sat 10 Jun 19:45 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

MATT HARTLEY

DIRECTOR

LISA SPIRLING

Hampstead Downstairs Originals season announced

Posted on 29 March 2017

Hampstead Theatre announces a season of three Hampstead Downstairs Originals

Full Price: £20
Previews: £10
Under 30 and students: £10
Seniors: £15 (matinees only)
Access: £10

For this season only you can select your preferred seats when buying your tickets, unlike other Hampstead Downstairs plays where seating is unreserved.