A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE PRODUCTION

JUDE

A NEW PLAY BY HOWARD BRENTON
DIRECTED BY EDWARD HALL

It wasn’t just her freakish ability with language. She saw through to behind the words. It was like she had a direct line to - I was going to say to ‘the gods'...

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

26 Apr - 1 Jun 2019

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

About to be fired from her cleaning job for stealing a volume of Euripides, Jude turns her employer’s outrage to shock by translating the ancient Greek on the spot. The employer, a Classics teacher, knows great talent when she sees it and the encounter kick-starts Jude's lifelong ambition to study at Oxford University.  Entirely self-taught and possessing an astonishing gift for languages, Jude will stop at nothing to achieve her dream – but she remains oblivious to the hidden barriers that her background has placed in her path... 

Howard Brenton’s latest play, loosely inspired by Thomas Hardy’s novel Jude the Obscure, is a modern day tale of unexpected genius and of our struggle to accommodate extraordinary talent. 

Brenton makes a highly anticipated return to Hampstead following Lawrence After Arabia in 2016. His many other critically acclaimed hits at Hampstead include Drawing the Line55 Days, and The Arrest of Ai Weiwei

Jude will be directed by Edward Hall. This will be his final production as Artistic Director of Hampstead Theatre. His most recent Hampstead directing credits include Cost of LivingI and You, and Filthy Business.

Isabella Nefar stars as Jude alongside Paul Brennen, Merch Husey, Caroline Loncq, Luke MacGregor, Shanaya Rafaat, Anna Savva and Emily Taaffe.

We are grateful to Lin and Ken Craig who have generously supported this production.

The commissioning of Jude was funded by NEXT DECADE, a joint Hampstead Theatre/AKO Foundation initiative.

 

TwitterBanner3


MPU8

Fri 26 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 27 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 29 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 30 Apr 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 01 May 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 02 May 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Fri 03 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 04 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 04 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 06 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 07 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 08 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 08 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 09 May 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Fri 10 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 11 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 11 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 13 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 14 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 15 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 15 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 16 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 17 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 18 May 15:00 Book now
Sat 18 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 20 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 21 May 19:30 Book now
Wed 22 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 22 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 23 May 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Fri 24 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 25 May 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 25 May 19:30 Book now
Mon 27 May 19:30 Book now
Tue 28 May 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 29 May 14:30 Book now
Wed 29 May 19:30 Book now
Thu 30 May 19:30 Book now
Fri 31 May 19:30 Book now
Sat 01 Jun 15:00 Book now
Sat 01 Jun 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

HOWARD BRENTON

DIRECTOR 

EDWARD HALL

DESIGNER 

ASHLEY MARTIN-DAVIS

LIGHTING 

PETER MUMFORD

SOUND

JOHN LEONARD

COMPOSER

SIMON SLATER

CASTING 

SUSIE PARRISS

 

 

Cast

TWO NEW SHOWS ANNOUNCED

Posted on 1 March 2019

Howard Brenton's Jude and Roy Williams' The Firm announced for 2019.

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £30/£27/£18
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10
Seniors (matinees only): £22/£20
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £37/£32/£25
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.