A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ORIGINAL

THE DEATH OF A BLACK MAN

By Alfred Fagon
Directed by Dawn Walton

At least I am my own boss. No regrets. I choose what I do. I am lucky.

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

28 May - 10 Jul 2021

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Early booking is advised. This production has limited seating capacity due to social distancing measures.


It’s 1973 and the West Indies have spectacularly beaten England at their own game, in their own backyard.

Shakie, an 18-year old super-savvy wheeler-dealer, is in his element – and not just because of the cricket. Life is good: his furniture business is making serious money and he owns a flat on the King’s Road, the epicentre of everything that’s cool. Moreover, his best friend Stumpie has come up with a plan to crack the booming music industry together - the possibilities are endless so when Shakie’s ex-lover Jackie arrives at the Chelsea flat, the trio toast the future.

The champagne is flowing and ambition is running sky high - but how far will they go, and who will they sacrifice, in their quest to be rich beyond their wildest dreams?

The Death of a Black Man received its world premiere at Hampstead in 1975. 46 years on, Alfred Fagon’s darkly compelling drama, with its witty and complex characters, remains compulsive viewing today.

Alfred Fagon was a soldier, boxing champion, a welder, actor, poet and playwright. The leading theatre award for Black British writers is named in his honour: alfredfagonaward.co.uk

Dawn Walton was the Founder Artistic Director of Eclipse Theatre and makes her Hampstead Theatre debut. Her most recent productions include The Gift (Theatre Royal Stratford East), Red Dust Road (NT Scotland) and Black Men Walking (Royal Court).

Cast to be announced.

Recommended age guidance 16+.


Our promise to you

In the event of The Death of a Black Man being postponed, you can chose between a full refund or credit to be used for any show at Hampstead.

Should government advice change in regards to live theatre and social distancing, The Death of a Black Man will remain as originally sold, with full social distancing measures and seats together available only for household / support bubbles.

Hampstead Theatre is delighted to open The Death of a Black Man following Government advice. As always, our audience, company and staff are our top priority. For more information about how we’re keeping you safe, please click here


We present entertaining and original theatre, and we want you to have the best experience possible. We understand that, as part of this, some audience members may appreciate additional guidance on the content of our plays. Click here for more information.


 See it safely logo small H

Twitter Banner

 

Fri 28 May 19:30 PREVIEW Sold Out
Sat 29 May 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Mon 31 May 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Tue 01 Jun 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Wed 02 Jun 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Thu 03 Jun 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Fri 04 Jun 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Sat 05 Jun 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 05 Jun 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Mon 07 Jun 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Tue 08 Jun 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 09 Jun 19:30 Book now
Thu 10 Jun 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 10 Jun 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Fri 11 Jun 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 12 Jun 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 12 Jun 19:30 Book now
Mon 14 Jun 19:30 Book now
Tue 15 Jun 19:30 Book now
Wed 16 Jun 19:30 Book now
Thu 17 Jun 14:30 Book now
Thu 17 Jun 19:30 Book now
Fri 18 Jun 19:30 Book now
Sat 19 Jun 14:30 Book now
Sat 19 Jun 19:30 Book now
Mon 21 Jun 19:30 Book now
Tue 22 Jun 19:30 Book now
Wed 23 Jun 19:30 Book now
Thu 24 Jun 14:30 Book now
Thu 24 Jun 19:30 Book now
Fri 25 Jun 19:30 Book now
Sat 26 Jun 14:30 Book now
Sat 26 Jun 19:30 Book now
Mon 28 Jun 19:30 Book now
Tue 29 Jun 19:30 Book now
Wed 30 Jun 19:30 Book now
Thu 01 Jul 14:30 Book now
Thu 01 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 02 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 03 Jul 14:30 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 03 Jul 19:30 Book now
Mon 05 Jul 19:30 Book now
Tue 06 Jul 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 07 Jul 19:30 Book now
Thu 08 Jul 14:30 Book now
Thu 08 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 09 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 10 Jul 14:30 Book now
Sat 10 Jul 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

ALFRED FAGON

DIRECTOR

DAWN WALTON

DESIGNER

SIMON KENNY

LIGHTING

JO TOWN

SOUND

RICHARD HAMMARTON

COMPOSER

DURAMANEY KAMARA

HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ANNOUNCES THE DEATH OF A BLACK MAN AND RAYA FOR SPRING 2021

Posted on 16 March 2021

Hampstead Theatre is delighted to announce its first live productions for 2021. Alfred Fagon’s darkly compelling, The Death of a Black Man will run on the Main Stage directed by Dawn Walton. Downstairs will be the World Premiere of Raya by Deborah Bruce, directed by Roxana Silbert.

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £18/£27/£30
Under 30s/Students: £10/15
Seniors* (matinees only): £20/£25
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £25/£32/£37
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.

KEEPING YOU SAFE AT HAMPSTEAD

1 Social Distanced 2

SOCIAL DISTANCING

2 Reduced Audience Capacity 1

REDUCED AUDIENCE CAPACITY

3 MASKS REQUIRED 1

FACE MASKS REQUIRED

4 TEMPERATURE CHECKS2

TEMPERATURE CHECKS

5 STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION2

START OF THE ART VENTILATION

6 ENHANCED CLEANING2

ENHANCED CLEANING

7 CONTACTLESS TICKETS2

CONTACTLESS TICKETS

8 HAND SANITIZING STATIONS 1

HAND SANITIZING STATIONS

9 CASHLESS PAYMENT3

CASHLESS PAYMENT