A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ORIGINAL

THE TWO CHARACTER PLAY

By Tennessee Williams
Directed by Sam Yates

A doctor once told me that we were the bravest people he knew. I said “Why, that’s absurd, my brother and I are terrified of our shadows.” And he said, “Yes, I know, and that’s why I admire your courage so much…"

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

17 Jul - 28 Aug 2021

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Early booking is advised. This production has limited seating capacity due to social distancing measures.


Fellow actors, and brother and sister, Felice and Clare have been on tour far too long. Abandoned by the rest of their troupe, all that’s left is each other, an empty stage and an expectant audience. They will have to adapt accordingly and perform the only appropriate work in their repertoire: The Two Character Play…

Tennessee Williams, one of the world’s great dramatists, referred to his innovative psychological thriller, as ‘my most beautiful play since A Streetcar Named Desire, the very heart of my life’. The Two Character Play returns to Hampstead for the first time since receiving its World Premiere here in 1967.

Kate O’Flynn plays Clare. Her theatre credits include an Olivier Award nomination for The Glass Menagerie (West End), Blank (Donmar) and A Taste of Honey (National Theatre).

Zubin Varla plays Felice. His theatre credits include an Olivier Award nomination for Fun Home (Young Vic), Equus (West End) and A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare’s Globe).

Sam Yates makes a highly anticipated return to Hampstead following his Olivier-nominated production, The Phlebotomist. His West End credits include Glengarry Glen Ross starring Christian Slater and The Starry Messenger starring Matthew Broderick.

The Two Character Play is presented by special arrangement with The University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee.


Our promise to you

In the event of The Two Character Play being postponed, you can chose between a full refund or credit to be used for any show at Hampstead.

Should government advice relax in regards to live theatre and social distancing, The Two Character Play will remain as originally sold, with no seating capacity increase and social distancing measures in place.


Hampstead Theatre is delighted to open The Two Character Play following Government advice. As always, our audience, company and staff are our top priority. For more information about how we’re keeping you safe, please click here.


We present entertaining and original theatre, and we want you to have the best experience possible. We understand that, as part of this, some audience members may appreciate additional guidance on the content of our plays. Click here for more information.


 See it safely logo small H

Twitter Banner2

 

Sat 17 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Mon 19 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Tue 20 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Wed 21 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Thu 22 Jul 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Fri 23 Jul 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 24 Jul 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 24 Jul 19:30 Book now
Mon 26 Jul 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Tue 27 Jul 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Wed 28 Jul 19:30 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 29 Jul 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Thu 29 Jul 19:30 Book now
Fri 30 Jul 19:30 Book now
Sat 31 Jul 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 31 Jul 19:30 Book now
Mon 02 Aug 19:30 Book now
Tue 03 Aug 19:30 Book now
Wed 04 Aug 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Limited Availability Book now
Thu 05 Aug 14:30 Book now
Thu 05 Aug 19:30 Book now
Fri 06 Aug 19:30 Book now
Sat 07 Aug 14:30 Book now
Sat 07 Aug 19:30 Book now
Mon 09 Aug 19:30 Book now
Tue 10 Aug 19:30 Book now
Wed 11 Aug 19:30 Book now
Thu 12 Aug 14:30 Book now
Thu 12 Aug 19:30 Book now
Fri 13 Aug 19:30 Book now
Sat 14 Aug 14:30 Book now
Sat 14 Aug 19:30 Book now
Mon 16 Aug 19:30 Book now
Tue 17 Aug 19:30 Book now
Wed 18 Aug 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Thu 19 Aug 14:30 Book now
Thu 19 Aug 19:30 Book now
Fri 20 Aug 19:30 Book now
Sat 21 Aug 14:30 Book now
Sat 21 Aug 19:30 Book now
Mon 23 Aug 19:30 Book now
Tue 24 Aug 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Limited Availability Book now
Wed 25 Aug 19:30 Book now
Thu 26 Aug 14:30 Book now
Thu 26 Aug 19:30 Book now
Fri 27 Aug 19:30 Book now
Sat 28 Aug 14:30 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 28 Aug 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

TENNESSEE WILLIAMS

DIRECTOR

SAM YATES

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR

LIZZIE MANWARING

DESIGNER

ROSANNA VIZE

LIGHTING

LEE CURRAN

SOUND

DAN BALFOUR

VIDEO

AKHILA KRISHNAN

MOVEMENT

MALIK NASHAD SHARPE

CASTING

STUART BURT CDG

Cast

THE TWO CHARACTER PLAY CAST ANNOUNCED

Posted on 10 June 2021

Kate O'Flynn and Zubin Varla will star in this new production of Tennessee Williams' play, which received its World Premiere at Hampstead in 1967, directed by Sam Yates (The Phlebotomist).

The Two Character Play and Big Big Sky Announced

Posted on 13 May 2021

Hampstead Theatre announces Tennessee Williams' The Two Character Play, directed by Sam Yates, and the World Premiere of Tom Wells' Big Big Sky, directed by the theatre's new Associate Director Tessa Walker

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £18/£27/£30
Under 30s/Students: £10/15
Seniors* (matinees only): £20/£25
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £25/£32/£37
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.

KEEPING YOU SAFE AT HAMPSTEAD

1 Social Distanced 2

SOCIAL DISTANCING

2 Reduced Audience Capacity 1

REDUCED AUDIENCE CAPACITY

3 MASKS REQUIRED 1

FACE MASKS REQUIRED

4 TEMPERATURE CHECKS2

TEMPERATURE CHECKS

5 STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION2

STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION

6 ENHANCED CLEANING2

ENHANCED CLEANING

7 CONTACTLESS TICKETS2

CONTACTLESS TICKETS

8 HAND SANITIZING STATIONS 1

HAND SANITIZING STATIONS

9 CASHLESS PAYMENT3

CASHLESS PAYMENT