A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE EUROPEAN PREMIERE

SONS OF THE PROPHET

By STEPHEN KARAM
Directed by BIJAN SHEIBANI

Every family’s got their stuff, right? The Douaihys have a habit of dying tragically. We’re like the Kennedys without the sex appeal.

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

2 Dec 2022 - 14 Jan 2023

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Details

Joseph Douaihy, a gay American-Lebanese Maronite Christian in rural Pennsylvania, has a pretty complicated life. When his father dies as the result of a prank, life truly spirals towards the bizarre. With unexplained pain blocking his athletics career, a desperate new boss who wants to capitalize on his grief, a dependent uncle who thinks he’s his legal guardian and a very wayward younger brother, Joseph has a lot on his plate. So he really should not be spending time with the attractive journalist who’s looking for the inside scoop on his father’s accident….

Tony Award-winning Stephen Karam makes a highly anticipated return to Hampstead following his multi award-winning, box office smash-hit, The Humans. 'The absolutely wonderful new comedy-drama' (New York Times), Sons of the Prophet makes its European premiere having been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize.

Bijan Sheibani returns to Hampstead to direct; his recent credits include The Arrival (Bush), Dance Nation (Almeida), Barber Shop Chronicles and A Taste of Honey (National Theatre).

 

Twitter5

Dates
Fri 02 Dec 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 03 Dec 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 05 Dec 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 06 Dec 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 07 Dec 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 08 Dec 19:30 Book now
Fri 09 Dec 19:30 Book now
Sat 10 Dec 14:30 Book now
Sat 10 Dec 19:30 Book now
Mon 12 Dec 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Tue 13 Dec 19:30 Book now
Wed 14 Dec 19:30 Book now
Thu 15 Dec 14:30 Book now
Thu 15 Dec 19:30 Book now
Fri 16 Dec 19:30 Book now
Sat 17 Dec 14:30 Book now
Sat 17 Dec 19:30 Book now
Mon 19 Dec 19:30 Book now
Tue 20 Dec 19:30 Book now
Wed 21 Dec 19:30 Book now
Thu 22 Dec 14:30 Book now
Thu 22 Dec 19:30 Book now
Fri 23 Dec 19:30 Book now
Sat 24 Dec 14:30 Book now
Mon 26 Dec 19:30 Book now
Tue 27 Dec 19:30 Book now
Wed 28 Dec 19:30 Book now
Thu 29 Dec 14:30 Book now
Thu 29 Dec 19:30 Book now
Fri 30 Dec 19:30 Book now
Sat 31 Dec 14:30 Book now
Sat 31 Dec 19:30 Book now
Mon 02 Jan 19:30 Book now
Tue 03 Jan 19:30 Book now
Wed 04 Jan 19:30 Book now
Thu 05 Jan 14:30 Book now
Thu 05 Jan 19:30 Book now
Fri 06 Jan 19:30 Book now
Sat 07 Jan 14:30 Book now
Sat 07 Jan 19:30 Book now
Mon 09 Jan 19:30 POST SHOW DISCUSSION, PATRONS EVENING Book now
Tue 10 Jan 19:30 POST SHOW DISCUSSION, CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 11 Jan 19:30 Book now
Thu 12 Jan 14:30 Book now
Thu 12 Jan 19:30 Book now
Fri 13 Jan 19:30 Book now
Sat 14 Jan 14:30 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 14 Jan 19:30 Book now
Cast

Artistic team

WRITER

STEPHEN KARAM

DIRECTOR

BIJAN SHEIBANI

News

HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ANNOUNCES FOUR NEW PLAYS

Posted on 16 September 2022

'“Our autumn/winter season celebrates Hampstead’s cosmopolitan roots with a range of international playwrights from Scotland to the USA, Northern Ireland to France and some great homegrown talent in between.'

Tickets

Previews, Mondays and matinees
Full Price: £10/£18/£27/£32.50
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Seniors*: (matinees only): £20/£25
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings
Full price: £10/£18/£25/£32/£39.50
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £17.50

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.

KEEPING YOU SAFE AT HAMPSTEAD

1 Social Distanced 1

RESPECT PERSONAL SPACE

2 MASKS REQUIRED 1

FACE MASKS ENCOURAGED

4 STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION 1

STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION

5 ENHANCED CLEANING 1

ENHANCED CLEANING

7 CONTACTLESS TICKETS 1

CONTACTLESS TICKETS

8 HAND SANITIZING STATIONS 2

HAND SANITISING STATIONS

9 CASHLESS PAYMENT 1

CASHLESS PAYMENT