PART OF THE HAMPSTEAD CLASSICS SEASON

THE DUMB WAITER

By Harold Pinter
Directed by Alice Hamilton

We’ve proved ourselves before now, haven’t we? We’ve always done our job. What’s he doing all this for? What’s the idea? What’s he playing these games for?

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

19 Mar - 18 Apr 2020

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Ben and Gus have a job to do. But as they await instructions in a derelict building, they start to receive strange messages via a dumb waiter. 

Originally premiered in January 1960 as part of the Hampstead Theatre Club’s first season, this seminal early comedy from Nobel Prize-winning British writer Harold Pinter returns to Hampstead, sixty years on.

Alice Hamilton’s directing credits include the Olivier-nominated Every Day I Make Greatness Happen and Paradise (both Hampstead Downstairs), The Weatherman (Park Theatre) and While We’re Here (Bush).

The Dumb Waiter opens Hampstead Theatre’s Classics Season, celebrating 60 years of original theatre with the restaging of four major plays from our archive.

‘The most influential, provocative and poetic dramatist of his generation’
The Guardian on Harold Pinter

‘The productions… are unfaltering, the playing impeccable. If the Hampstead Theatre Club keeps to this standard, it not only deserves success it will command it’
Harold Hobson, Sunday Times, on the original Hampstead Theatre Club productions of The Dumb Waiter and The Room

(Harold Pinter, 1962 by Cecil Beaton ©The Cecil Beaton Studio Archive at Sotheby's​)

Twitter Banner

OFFER MPU2

Thu 19 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Fri 20 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 21 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Mon 23 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 24 Mar 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 25 Mar 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Thu 26 Mar 19:30 Book now
Fri 27 Mar 19:30 Book now
Sat 28 Mar 15:00 Book now
Sat 28 Mar 19:30 Book now
Mon 30 Mar 19:30 Book now
Tue 31 Mar 19:30 Book now
Wed 01 Apr 14:30 Book now
Wed 01 Apr 19:30 Book now
Thu 02 Apr 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Fri 03 Apr 19:30 Book now
Sat 04 Apr 15:00 Book now
Sat 04 Apr 19:30 Book now
Mon 06 Apr 19:30 Book now
Tue 07 Apr 19:30 Book now
Wed 08 Apr 14:30 Book now
Wed 08 Apr 19:30 Book now
Thu 09 Apr 19:30 Book now
Fri 10 Apr 19:30 Book now
Sat 11 Apr 15:00 Book now
Sat 11 Apr 19:30 Book now
Mon 13 Apr 19:30 Book now
Tue 14 Apr 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 15 Apr 14:30 Book now
Wed 15 Apr 19:30 Book now
Thu 16 Apr 19:30 Book now
Fri 17 Apr 19:30 Book now
Sat 18 Apr 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 18 Apr 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

HAROLD PINTER

DIRECTOR

 ALICE HAMILTON

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £18/£27/£30
Under 30s/Students: £10/15
Seniors* (matinees only): £20/£25
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £25/£32/£37
Under 30s/Students: £10/£15
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.