HAMPSTEAD DOWNSTAIRS / CELIA ATKIN PRESENT

FOLK

By NELL LEYSHON
Directed by ROXANA SILBERT

I have a little piece of England in my bag. Thank you, Louie.

Downstairs

Choose a date and select your own seats online

18 Dec 2021 - 5 Feb 2022

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

1903, Somerset. Rooted in the land where she has lived her entire life, Louie Hooper’s mind overflows with its songs – more than 300 of them passed down from her mother. Cecil Sharp, a composer visiting from London, fears England’s folk songs will be lost forever and sets out on a mission to transcribe each and every one. He believes Louie’s music should speak not just for this place but for the whole of England. But whose England?

Inspired by a true story, Nell Leyshon’s beautiful new play features live folk song.

Brought up in a neighbouring village to Louie’s in Somerset, Nell Leyshon’s theatre credits include Comfort Me With Apples (nominated for an Olivier Award for ‘Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre’ and winner of the Evening Standard Award for Most Promising Playwright) and Glass Eels (both Hampstead), Don’t Look Now (Sheffield / Lyric Hammersmith) and Bedlam (Globe). Folk aired on Radio 3 in May 2021 as part of the BBC’s Light’s Up series, which turned the spotlight on plays whose staging had been delayed by the pandemic.

Hampstead’s Artistic Director Roxana Silbert directs her second Downstairs production, following Deborah Bruce’s Raya. Other Hampstead productions include The Haystack. She is also directing the Pulitzer winner ‘night, Mother on the Main Stage this autumn.

The cast features Ben Allen (Measure for Measure, Donmar), Sasha Frost (The Lightning Child, Shakepeare's Globe), Mariam Haque (Behind the Beautiful Forevers, National Theatre) and Simon Robson (The Schumann Plan, Hampstead Theatre).

Folk is a T.S. Eliot Foundation commission.

Image of Louie Hooper courtesy of the English Folk Dance and Song Society


Our promise to you

In the event of Folk being postponed, you can choose between a full refund or credit to be used for any show at Hampstead.

Hampstead Theatre is delighted to open Folk following Government advice. As always, our audience, company and staff are our top priority. For more information about how we’re keeping you safe, please click here.


See it safely logo small H

Twitter banner FOLK2

Sat 18 Dec 19:45 Book now
Sat 18 Dec 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Mon 20 Dec 19:45 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Tue 21 Dec 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 22 Dec 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 23 Dec 19:45 PREVIEW Book now
Fri 24 Dec 14:45 Book now
Mon 27 Dec 19:45 Book now
Tue 28 Dec 19:45 Book now
Wed 29 Dec 19:45 Book now
Thu 30 Dec 14:45 Book now
Thu 30 Dec 19:45 Book now
Fri 31 Dec 19:45 Book now
Sat 01 Jan 19:45 Book now
Mon 03 Jan 19:45 Book now
Tue 04 Jan 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Limited Availability Book now
Wed 05 Jan 19:45 Book now
Thu 06 Jan 14:45 Book now
Thu 06 Jan 19:45 Book now
Fri 07 Jan 19:45 Book now
Sat 08 Jan 14:45 Book now
Sat 08 Jan 19:45 Book now
Mon 10 Jan 19:45 Book now
Tue 11 Jan 19:45 Book now
Wed 12 Jan 19:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Thu 13 Jan 14:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Thu 13 Jan 19:45 Book now
Fri 14 Jan 19:45 Book now
Sat 15 Jan 14:45 Book now
Sat 15 Jan 19:45 Book now
Mon 17 Jan 19:45 Book now
Tue 18 Jan 19:45 Book now
Wed 19 Jan 19:45 Book now
Thu 20 Jan 14:45 Book now
Thu 20 Jan 19:45 Book now
Fri 21 Jan 19:45 Book now
Sat 22 Jan 14:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Limited Availability Book now
Sat 22 Jan 19:45 Book now
Mon 24 Jan 19:45 PATRONS EVENING Limited Availability Book now
Tue 25 Jan 19:45 SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE Book now
Wed 26 Jan 19:45 Book now
Thu 27 Jan 14:45 Book now
Thu 27 Jan 19:45 Book now
Fri 28 Jan 19:45 Book now
Sat 29 Jan 14:45 Book now
Sat 29 Jan 19:45 Book now
Mon 31 Jan 19:45 Book now
Tue 01 Feb 19:45 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 02 Feb 19:45 Book now
Thu 03 Feb 14:45 Book now
Thu 03 Feb 19:45 Book now
Fri 04 Feb 19:45 Book now
Sat 05 Feb 14:45 Book now
Sat 05 Feb 19:45 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

NELL LEYSHON

DIRECTOR

ROXANA SILBERT

DESIGNER

ROSE REVITT

LIGHTING

MATT HASKINS

DIRECTOR OF MUSIC

GARY YERSHON

SOUND

TINGYING DONG

MOVEMENT DIRECTOR

AYSE TASHKIRAN

MOVEMENT PLACEMENT

ANNA ALVAREZ

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR

GRACE CORDELL

Cast

HAMPSTEAD THEATRE ANNOUNCES THE WORLD PREMIERES OF LITTLE SCRATCH, BY REBECCA WATSON, IN AN ADAPTATION BY MIRIAM BATTYE, DIRECTED BY KATIE MITCHELL, AND NELL LEYSHON’S FOLK DIRECTED BY ROXANA SILBERT

Posted on 29 September 2021

Hampstead Theatre is delighted to announce the remaining two world premieres for its Downstairs space in 2021.

First five performances: All tickets £5
Performances thereafter: £20
Seniors*: £12 (matinee only)
Under 30s and Students: £10
Access: £6

*Ages 60+

KEEPING YOU SAFE AT HAMPSTEAD

1 Social Distanced 2

RESPECT PERSONAL SPACE

3 MASKS REQUIRED 1

FACE MASKS REQUIRED

4 TEMPERATURE CHECKS2

TEMPERATURE CHECKS

5 STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION2

STATE OF THE ART VENTILATION

6 ENHANCED CLEANING2

ENHANCED CLEANING

7 CONTACTLESS TICKETS2

CONTACTLESS TICKETS

8 HAND SANITIZING STATIONS 1

HAND SANITIZING STATIONS

9 CASHLESS PAYMENT3

CASHLESS PAYMENT