A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE WORLD PREMIERE

THE HAYSTACK

By AL BLYTH
Directed by ROXANA SILBERT

Yes, we’re geeks, yes, we sit at computers all day, yes, we barely leave Cheltenham, but we are still, when it comes down to it, spies

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

31 Jan - 7 Mar 2020

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

Neil and Zef are two twenty-something computer whizzes with questionable dress sense and a highly developed interest in video games and Netflix. They’re also the UK’s ‘National Defence Information Security Team’ - recruited by GCHQ for their sky-high IQs and ability to work quickly and discreetly, no questions asked.  

With unfettered access to the world’s data and infinite powers of electronic intrusion, these unlikely agents are essential cogs in the national security machine.  But when their window onto intelligence operations shows them more than they were meant to see, they begin to question their roles in a system whose reach is unlimited but whose safeguards are not…

Al Blyth’s explosive espionage thriller challenges the ‘nothing to hide, nothing to fear’ mantra and explores how we can live honestly, love freely, and stay authentic when the advances in cutting-edge technology outpace the law.

The Haystack is Blyth’s first full-length play and Roxana Silbert makes her directing debut as Hampstead Theatre’s Artistic Director. 

The cast will include Lucy Black as Denise, Oliver Johnstone as Neil, Rona Morison as Cora, Enyi Okoronkwo as Zef and Sarah Woodward as Hannah.

Twitter banner19


MPU21

Fri 31 Jan 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Sat 01 Feb 19:30 PREVIEW Limited Availability Book now
Mon 03 Feb 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Tue 04 Feb 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Wed 05 Feb 19:30 PREVIEW Book now
Thu 06 Feb 19:00 PRESS NIGHT Sold Out
Fri 07 Feb 19:30 Book now
Sat 08 Feb 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 08 Feb 19:30 Book now
Mon 10 Feb 19:30 Book now
Tue 11 Feb 19:30 Book now
Wed 12 Feb 14:30 Book now
Wed 12 Feb 19:30 Book now
Thu 13 Feb 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Fri 14 Feb 19:30 Book now
Sat 15 Feb 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 15 Feb 19:30 Book now
Mon 17 Feb 19:30 Book now
Tue 18 Feb 19:30 Book now
Wed 19 Feb 14:30 Book now
Wed 19 Feb 19:30 Book now
Thu 20 Feb 19:30 Book now
Fri 21 Feb 19:30 Book now
Sat 22 Feb 15:00 Book now
Sat 22 Feb 19:30 Book now
Mon 24 Feb 19:30 Book now
Tue 25 Feb 19:30 Book now
Wed 26 Feb 14:30 Book now
Wed 26 Feb 19:30 Book now
Thu 27 Feb 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Fri 28 Feb 19:30 Book now
Sat 29 Feb 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED Book now
Sat 29 Feb 19:30 Book now
Mon 02 Mar 19:30 PATRONS EVENING Book now
Tue 03 Mar 19:30 Book now
Wed 04 Mar 14:30 Book now
Wed 04 Mar 19:30 Book now
Thu 05 Mar 19:30 Book now
Fri 06 Mar 19:30 Book now
Sat 07 Mar 15:00 Book now
Sat 07 Mar 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITER

AL BLYTH

DIRECTOR

ROXANA SILBERT

Designer

TOM PIPER

COSTUME

EMMA CAINS

LIGHTING

RICK FISHER

SOUND DESIGN & COMPOSITION  

BEN AND MAX RINGHAM

VIDEO

DUNCAN MCLEAN

MOVEMENT

WAYNE PARSONS

CASTING

JULIET HORSLEY CDG

VIDEO PERFORMERS

SIRINE SABA - AMEERA 
OLI HIGGINSON - ROB 

Cast

THE HAYSTACK FULL CAST ANNOUNCED

Posted on 16 December 2019

Full casting for the world premiere of The Haystack by Al Blyth, directed by Roxana Silbert in her directorial debut as Artistic Director.

NEW SEASON ANNOUNCEMENT

Posted on 23 July 2019

Ahead of its 60th Birthday, Hampstead Theatre announces Roxana Silbert’s inaugural season as Artistic Director

2019 New Season Offer

Posted on 23 July 2019

For a limited time only, you can see all four new Main Stage productions in Roxana Silbert's debut season for the price of three - yes, see one show entirely for free!

Roxana Silbert's Debut Season: Statement

Posted on 23 July 2019

‘I am excited to introduce my debut season as Artistic Director of Hampstead Theatre.

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £30/£27/£18
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10
Seniors* (matinees only): £25/£20
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Ages 60+

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £37/£32/£25
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

All prices are subject to change. Book early for the best price.

Video and Image Gallery

Oliver Johnstone (Neil), Rona Morison (Cora), Sarah Woodward (Hannah) & Enyi Okoronkwo (Zef) Oliver Johnstone (Neil), Rona Morison (Cora), Sarah Woodward (Hannah) & Enyi Okoronkwo (Zef)
Rona Morison (Cora) Rona Morison (Cora)
Lucy Black (Denise) & Oliver Johnstone (Neil) Lucy Black (Denise) & Oliver Johnstone (Neil)
Enyi Okoronkwo (Zef) Enyi Okoronkwo (Zef)
Al Blyth (Writer) & Roxana Silbert (Director) Al Blyth (Writer) & Roxana Silbert (Director)
Rona Morison (Cora) & Lucy Black (Denise) Rona Morison (Cora) & Lucy Black (Denise)
Oliver Johnstone (Neil) & Rona Morison (Cora) Oliver Johnstone (Neil) & Rona Morison (Cora)
Sarah Woodward (Hannah) Sarah Woodward (Hannah)
Enyi Okoronkwo (Zef) & Oliver Johnstone (Neil) Enyi Okoronkwo (Zef) & Oliver Johnstone (Neil)
Lucy Black (Denise) Lucy Black (Denise)
Rona Morison (Cora) & Lucy Black (Denise) Rona Morison (Cora) & Lucy Black (Denise)
Roxana Silbert (Director) Roxana Silbert (Director)
Al Blyth (Writer) Al Blyth (Writer)
Oliver Johnstone (Neil) Oliver Johnstone (Neil)
Al Blyth (Writer) & Roxana Silbert (Director) Al Blyth (Writer) & Roxana Silbert (Director)