A HAMPSTEAD THEATRE PRODUCTION

PRISM

Written and Directed by Terry Johnson

£10 - £37 (See ticket information)

The first time I held a prism and turned it to the light it did what the Impressionists struggled a lifetime to do; it embraced the light, split the light; it seemed to understand the very secret of light.

Main Stage

Choose a date and select your own seats online

6 Sep - 14 Oct 2017
£10 - £37

Box Office: 020 7722 9301

The commissioning of Prism was funded by NEXT DECADE, a joint Hampstead Theatre/AKO Foundation initiative.


Legendary cinematographer Jack Cardiff has retired to the sleepy village of Denham, Buckinghamshire. His days of hard work - and play – on some of the most famous sets in the world are now long behind him, as are his secret liaisons with some of the most famous women in the world... Surrounded by memorabilia from a lifetime of ‘painting with light’, the writing of an autobiography should be an easy matter - were it not that Jack would now rather live in the past than remember it.

Terry Johnson’s delightfully witty and poignant new play is based on the extraordinary life of double Oscar-winning cinematic master Jack Cardiff; ‘the man who made women look beautiful’.

Terry Johnson returns to Hampstead as writer/director following his sell-out hit Hysteria starring Antony Sher and Ken (Hampstead Downstairs). He also directed Main Stage successes Race, Seminar and Old Money. His many West End credits include La Cage aux Folles, Mrs Henderson Presents and Dead Funny.

Double Olivier Award winner Robert Lindsay returns to Hampstead for the first time in 35 years. His theatre credits include Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (West End) and television credits include My Family and Genius.

Claire Skinner returns to Hampstead Theatre following the sell-out hit, Rabbit Hole last year. Recent theatre credits include The Father (West End) and Blurred Lines (National Theatre). Her television credits include Outnumbered

We are grateful to Lin and Ken Craig who have generously supported this production.

 

 

SoSMPU

 

 

Wed 06 Sep 19:30 Book now
Thu 07 Sep 19:30 Book now
Fri 08 Sep 19:30 Book now
Sat 09 Sep 19:30 Book now
Mon 11 Sep 19:30 Book now
Tue 12 Sep 19:30 Book now
Wed 13 Sep 19:30 Book now
Thu 14 Sep 19:00 Sold Out
Fri 15 Sep 19:30 Book now
Sat 16 Sep 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 16 Sep 19:30 Book now
Mon 18 Sep 19:30 Book now
Tue 19 Sep 19:30 Book now
Wed 20 Sep 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 20 Sep 19:30 Book now
Thu 21 Sep 19:30 Book now
Fri 22 Sep 19:30 Book now
Sat 23 Sep 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 23 Sep 19:30 Book now
Mon 25 Sep 19:30 Book now
Tue 26 Sep 19:30 Book now
Wed 27 Sep 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 27 Sep 19:30 Book now
Thu 28 Sep 19:30 Book now
Fri 29 Sep 19:30 Book now
Sat 30 Sep 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 30 Sep 19:30 Book now
Mon 02 Oct 19:30 Book now
Tue 03 Oct 19:30 Book now
Wed 04 Oct 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 04 Oct 19:30 Book now
Thu 05 Oct 19:30 Book now
Fri 06 Oct 19:30 Book now
Sat 07 Oct 15:00 AUDIO DESCRIBED Limited Availability Book now
Sat 07 Oct 19:30 Book now
Mon 09 Oct 19:30 Book now
Tue 10 Oct 19:30 CAPTIONED Book now
Wed 11 Oct 14:30 Limited Availability Book now
Wed 11 Oct 19:30 Book now
Thu 12 Oct 19:30 Book now
Fri 13 Oct 19:30 Book now
Sat 14 Oct 15:00 Limited Availability Book now
Sat 14 Oct 19:30 Book now

Artistic team

WRITTEN AND DIRECTED BY

TERRY JOHNSON

DESIGNER

TIM SHORTALL

LIGHTING

BEN ORMEROD

SOUND

JOHN LEONARD

CASTING

SUZANNE CROWLEY & GILLY POOLE

associate producers

MASON CARDIFF AND ROBERT LINDSAY

 

Cast

Win with Hampstead Theatre and the BFI

Posted on 28 July 2017

We’ve clubbed together with the BFI to offer you the chance to win a fantastic goody bag that celebrates the legendary cinematographer and director Jack Cardiff, the subject of Terry Johnson's new play Prism.

AUTUMN SEASON ANNOUNCED

Posted on 19 May 2017

Including Terry Johnson's Prism, Nicholas Wright's The Slaves of Solitude and Simon Gray's Cell Mates

VIDEO: AUTUMN SEASON 2017 TRAILER

Posted on 19 May 2017

Find out more about our upcoming autumn shows Prism, The Slaves of Solitude and Cell Mates.

READ AN EXCERPT FROM JACK CARDIFF’S AUTOBIOGRAPHY, MAGIC HOUR

Posted on 19 May 2017

Read an exclusive extract from the autobiography of Jack Cardiff, whose life is the subject of Terry Johnson's new play Prism

Previews, Mondays and matinees 
Full price: £30/£27/£18
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Seniors (matinees only): £22/£20
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

Tuesday – Saturday evenings 
Full price: £37/£32/£25
Under 30s/Students: £15/£10* 
Groups: For every 9 tickets get the 10th free
Access: £16

*Under 30s and Student concession seats are available in row A (£15) & Band C (£10)

Video and Image Gallery

Robert Lindsay Robert Lindsay
Rebecca Night Rebecca Night
Robert Lindsay Robert Lindsay
Rebecca Night and Robert Lindsay Rebecca Night and Robert Lindsay
Claire Skinner and Robert Linsday Claire Skinner and Robert Linsday
Claire Skinner Claire Skinner
Rebecca Night, Claire Skinner, Barnaby Kay and Robert Lindsay Rebecca Night, Claire Skinner, Barnaby Kay and Robert Lindsay
Terry Johnson (Writer/Director) Terry Johnson (Writer/Director)
Barnaby Kay Barnaby Kay